Marriage Licenses

As the county re-opens marriage license applications will continue to be online only

applying for a marriage license 

All marriage license applications will be online and finalized during a WEBEX video conference. Applicants may login from different locations. Your payment will show as pending until your application is accepted.  Only the authorization for an accepted application is processed.
The guidelines below still apply EXCEPT that you should apply at least 4 weeks before your ceremony.  This will allow sufficient time for rejections and scheduling.  You will receive your license in your email by the end of your WEBEX conference.
Appointments for in person licenses can only be made for emergency 3 day waivers, with appropriate documentation. The process must still be started online. An appointment will then be scheduled for the soonest available slot.
Click the link below to proceed. 

Marriage license application

Applying for a Marriage License

Applicants seeking a marriage license must appear together in the Marriage License Bureau of the Register of Wills Office and complete a Marriage License Application. For more details, please download the Marriage Brochure.


  • Applicants should take the necessary steps to obtain a marriage license two to three weeks before the scheduled date of their marriage ceremony.
  • When you apply for license, you may take it with you.
  • The license is not valid until three days after application.
  • A marriage license is valid for 60 days from date it is issued.
  • Please note that if you cannot speak English, an independent translator must accompany the applicants.
  • A marriage license issued in Montgomery County may be used anywhere in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Likewise, a license issued in any other county in Pennsylvania may be used in Montgomery County.


The fees for a marriage license vary from county to county. Montgomery County fees, including Pennsylvania taxes and surcharges, are as follows:

Type of Fee Fee Amount
Montgomery County Fee $32.50
Pennsylvania Writ Tax $00.50
Act 151 Domestic Violence $10.00
Act 222 Children's Fund $10.00
Total $53.00 (CASH ONLY)

Marriage Eligibility Requirements

  • Applicants must be 18 years of age in order to apply for a marriage license. This rule applies to both male and female applicants.
  • Applicants between 16-18 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian to provide written consent to the marriage.
  • Applicants under 16 years of age must have both the written approval of a judge of the Orphans’ Court Division of the Common Pleas and a written consent from a parent or legal guardian.

Marriage Restrictions

Persons related by blood, up to and including first cousins, may not marry in Pennsylvania. Other prohibitions and policies are posted in the Marriage License Bureau of the Register of Wills Office.